1Password recently announced a new feature called “Psst!” that allows users to send items to anyone, even non-1Password users.
The feature allows users to share items by receiving a unique link that they can customize according to their needs.
While 1Passowotd CEO Jeff Shiner explained that this became necessary after customers requested features that allowed them to send passwords or other secret content to users who do not use 1password, the company’s chief product officer, Akshay Bhargava, explained that some of these secure links can be available for hours, while others can be available for up to 30 days.
The links expire automatically and users can restrict who is able to view whatever is within the link by forcing that person to verify their email address.
Shiner said of the new feature: “It’s kind of a universal problem. Historically what’s happened is that to share those things, often people resort to bad security hygiene. We wanted to provide a really secure, simple, easy way to share with everyone regardless of if you have 1Password installed or not.”
For more information, read the original story in ZDNet.