Google has added a new security verification feature to Gmail that will require users to confirm their identity before making certain changes to their accounts.
The feature, which is rolling out to all personal and work Google accounts, will be triggered when users try to create, edit, or import a filter for incoming messages. It could also be triggered when users attempt to add a new forwarding address, or enable IMAP access.
If a user attempts to make one of these changes without completing the verification process, they will be blocked from doing so. A “Critical Security Alert” notification will also be sent to all of the user’s verified devices.
Google says that the new security verification is designed to help protect users from unauthorized access to their accounts. The company noted that the security feature will be available to all personal and work Google accounts.
The sources for this piece include an article in ZDNET.